Hey everyone!!

Long time no see. Well we are glad to be here with you on wordpress on this World Tourism Day. Yeah you hear it right, World Tourism Day is celebrated with a theme “Tourism for all – promoting universal accessibility” Exciting, isn’t it?

So today, lets come together n know all about the coming major festival ‘Navratri of everyone’s favorite nation.i.e India.
Well in my eyes (Navratri) this festival is not just a celebration of Hinduism, Vedic festival but Navratri is a celebration of the arrival of a new soul, a celebration of love and purification! People of all faiths, religions and nationalities come on Navratri to India.

Ohh, before going further let me tell you Navratri in brief, the term Navratri means nine nights, nights filled with dance, music and great food, Navratri is all about fun and frolic, as is evident from the gorgeous ensembles and lively dances.

The VALUE of NAVRATRI (9 Nights)
Navratri stands for 9 nights.
Why 9 nights?
Because Creation happens in darkness, in the womb. Nine months in the womb, like nine long nights, in which the spirit takes on human form.

Nine nights are precious as they carry a subtle energy. Subtle energy carries a wealth.

There is a way to bring this subtle energy into the outermost layer. We call this Yagna. There are many types of Yagna :
Yagna draya – which uses a lot of substances. 108 various types of herbs, fruit and whatnot;
Gyan Yagna – the discussion of knowledge;
Japa Yagna – reading mantras.

All of this adds purity, prosperity, peace and harmony to all. The whole environment becomes alive. No bickering in mind, just an innocent mind.
Read life as a gift, present time as a gift.

Navratri takes all the tiredness and stress away. With whole heartedly we dedicate these divine days and return to the source from which we came. Then we sing a Bhajan.

In these nine days we awake the divine qualities within us.


Divine Mother or the Goddess (Devi) is venerated during the nine days and nights of celebrating Navratri. Although the divine Mother is One, she is worshiped in three forms as Durga, Lakshmi and as Saraswati.

During the first three days of Nava Ratri, the emphasis is on the removal of coarser, surface obstacles with the help of the Goddess Durga. The human heart is contaminated with anger, greed, hatred, passion (lust), pride, jealousy. These “invaders of the heart must be removed, and the heart is to be purified.

That is Durga sitting on tiger, enters the heart of man and ruthlessly destroys all the dirt that live in it. Still confused personality paves the way for the development of a healthy personality which can reveal the divine goodness.

Over the next three days of NavaRatri is revered the same Devi in Her creative aspect of the Goddess Lakshmi. Standing on a blossomed Lotus and holding Lotus flowers in hand Lakshmi is the epitome of softness, harmony and perfection, and she blesses the man with material and spiritual success and prosperity.

After Durga has cleared away the old personality can begin the creative process – the Foundation has been laid. More and more beauty unfolds, it fills the heart with joy. In the spiritual movement it represents the advent of Lakshmi.

Lakshmi supports and nurtures the creative expression of the soul. Durga destroys the dilapidated remains of old vices; Lakshmi gives virtue. Durga removes the diseased part of the mind; Lakshmi performs healing.

Lakshmi is the Goddess of material and spiritual prosperity. She symbolizes the divine celebration. The Lakshmi period marked by the development of the divine qualities of compassion, mercy, universal love, unity, magnanimity of heart, balance of mind. Lakshmi brings stability of mind, enriches the spirit and eliminates that distraction.

The last three nights Nava-Ratri are devoted to the worship of the Goddess Saraswati who bestows wisdom. Saraswati comes to make us enlightened. Saraswati is described as having a white complexion like the Himalayan snows. She shines all of her clothes and glittering decorations give off a pure, snowy light. Saraswati is compared to a Jasmine flower. This flower is not only white, but also fragrant. Where there is purity, there’s also flavor. She holds the Veena (musical instrument) – a symbol of harmony of the individual.

Saraswati – Goddess of Wisdom – allows us to go beyond the barriers of our ego and experience the transcendental dimension. Creativity begin to unfold. Saraswati destroys ignorance and reveals the radiance and splendor of consciousness.


Navratri Day 1 – October 1, 2016 – Ghatsthapana – Navratri Begins
Navratri Day 1 – October 2, 2016 – Chandra Darshan
Navratri Day 2 – October 3, 2016 – Sindoor Tritiya
Navratri Day 3 – October 4, 2016 – Varad Vinayak Chaturthi
Navratri Day 4 – October 5, 2016 – Upang Lalita Vrat – Lalitha Panchami
Navratri Day 5 – October 6, 2016 – Saraswati Awahan
Navratri Day 6 – October 7, 2016 – Saraswathi Puja (western parts of India)
Navratri Day 7 – October 8, 2016 – Maha Lakshmi Puja (western parts of India)
Navratri Day 8 – October 9, 2016 – Mahashtami – Annapoorna Parikrama – Saraswati Visarjan – Mahanavami fasting
Navratri Day 9 – October 10, 2016 – Mahanavami

The tenth day is celebrated as Dussehra.
Finally, the tenth day of this grand festival is celebrated as Dussehra, the day when Lord Rama triumphed over Ravana. This day signifies the victory of good over evil, and is also celebrated on a large scale across India. This year, Navratri starts on the 1st of October. The best way to celebrate Navratri this year is to participate in the festivities and explore how the festival is celebrated in other parts of India. Don’t waste another minute and plan a trip to a lovely destination in India. Check out monksandmonkeys for Navratri tours!

Nav Durga Puja Vidhi

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s